Regional Representatives



Protecting the interests of cities, the League of Cities of the Philippines (LCP) is committed to bringing local urban governance agenda at the forefront of the country’s development strategies. As the mandated organization of the Philippine cities, the LCP believes effective change in the national consciousness starts with the primary visions of the local government units.


On July 25, 1987, former President Corazon Aquino issued Executive Order No. 262 that created the League of City Mayors of the Philippines. Then Quezon City Mayor Brigido R. Simon Jr. was elected as its founding president and Lipa City Mayor Ruben L. Umali as the secretary-general.


It was also during that time when local government units – provinces, cities, municipalities, and the barangays – clamoured for genuine reforms. Local chief executives lobbied for a new Local Government Code which granted the national government to only supervise and not control the LGUs.


After years of hard advocacy work, Congress passed the Republic Act 7160, the Local Government Code, on October 10, 1991. Under Section 499, LCP is finally institutionalized for the “primary purpose of ventilating, articulating, and crystallizing issues affecting city government administration...”


The change in nomenclature transformed the character of LCP from an organization of political personalities to a membership-based institution where the cities – and not their political leaders – are accountable entities.


Through the years, LCP’s services have evolved from administrative to policy, technical, and programs support.


The LCP has a national executive board, its highest policy-making body, composed of 30 voting members. It also has a secretariat jointly supervised by the president and secretary-general.


Below are the 2019-2022 Regional Representatives and Focal Mayors:


Regional Representative for CAR

Hon. Darwin Estrañero
Tabuk City
Regional Representatives for Region I Hon. Juan Carlo S. Medina
Vigan City
Regional Representatives for Region II Hon. Joseph S. Tan
Santiago City
Regional Representatives for Region III Hon. Nestor L. Alvarez
Science City of Muñoz
Regional Representatives for NCR Hon. Oscar G. Malapitan
Caloocan City
Regional Representatives for Region IV-A Hon. Arlene B. Arcilla
Santa Rosa City
Regional Representatives for Region IV-B Hon. Lucilo R. Bayron
Puerto Princesa City
Regional Representatives for Region V Hon. Madelaine Y. Alfelor
Iriga City
Regional Representatives for Region VI Hon. Mark Andrew J. Golez
Silay City
Regional Representatives for Region VII Hon. John Geesnell L. Yap II
Tagbilaran City
Regional Representatives for Region VIII Hon. Nacional V. Mercado
Maasin City
Regional Representatives for Region IX Hon. Maria Isabelle G. Climaco
Zamboanga City
Regional Representatives for Region X Hon. Jennifer W. Tan
Tangub City
Regional Representatives for Region XI Hon. Al David T. Uy
Island Garden City of Samal
Regional Representatives for Region XII Hon. Angelo O. Montilla
Tacurong City
Regional Representative for CARAGA Hon. Ernest U. Matugas
Surigao City
Regional Representative for BARMM Hon. Rosita U. Furigay
Lamitan City
Focal Mayor for Anti-Criminality and Illegal Drugs
Hon. Benjamin B. Magalong
Baguio City
Focal Mayor for Education Hon. Florencio T. Flores
Malaybalay City
Focal Mayor for the Environment, Climate Change and Disaster Risk Management Hon. Noel E. Rosal
Legazpi City
Focal Mayor for Gender and Development Hon. Rowena T. Tuason
Masbate City
Focal Mayor for Health Hon. Ericson G. Singson
Candon City
Focal Mayor for Infrastructure Development Hon. Bernard Faustino M. Dy
Cauayan City
Focal Mayor for International Cooperation Hon. Imelda G. Calixto-Rubiano
Pasay City
Focal Mayor for Migration and Development Hon. Stephen A. Palmares
Passi City
Focal Mayor for Mobility and Transport Hon. Lani Mercado-Revilla
Bacoor City
Focal Mayor for Muslim Affairs Hon. Majul Usman Gandamra
Marawi City
Focal Mayor for Peace and Development in Mindanao Hon. Frances Cynthia J. Guiani-Sayadi
Cotabato City
Focal Mayor for Sustainable Development Goals Hon. Cielo Krisel Lagman-Luistro
Tabaco City
Focal Mayor for Youth and Sports Development Hon. Julier C. Resuello
San Carlos City, Pangasinan


One Planet City Challenge 2019 - 2020
March 19, 2019
On behalf of the Climate Change and Energy Unit of WWF-Philippines, I wish to invite all cities to join the One Planet City Challenge (OPCC) 2019-2020.
Earth Hour 2019 Switch-Off Event
March 18, 2019
In support of the World Wide Fund for Nature (WWF) - Philippines’ upcoming Earth Hour celebration on 30 March 2019, I invite all city governments to:
Invitation to the Biggest Mobile App Summit and Expo in the Philippines
September 4, 2019
The Office of the Presidential Adviser for Entrepreneurship, headed by its President and Chair of the ASEAN Business Advisory Council Philippines, Mr. Joey Concepcion, cordially invites city mayors and technical officers to the event called, “SIGN UP: Angat Lahat sa Digital!” on 23 September 2019 at the World Trade Center in Pasay City.
Invitation to the Industry 4.0 Summit by BusinessWorld
September 4, 2019
BusinessWorld is inviting city mayors and technical officers to attend a thought leadership forum called, "Industry 4.0 Summit," which will be held at Shangri-La at the Fort on 09 September 2019.